Mote

Acceptance

Accept…

that you cannot explain this feeling

that you may never be able to

that it is inexplicable

Let go of this if you can 

Instead of holding onto it, try broadcasting it, like a signal sent out to the universe

Let it go and let it be formless

Let it flow out of you 

Broadcast it and don’t worry about whether or not or how it is being received, because that is something that exists beyond the boundaries of your control

Grasping will only smother the light; 

Once there was only dark. If you ask me, the light is winning.”

-Rust

A story that is both a truth and a lie;

“I find myself alone, surrounded by darkness. I can see my own body as if it is lit by pale, silvery moonlight. The inky darkness seems alive, like a black velvet cloth undulating around me.

“I look down at my hands and I notice one of them is clenched shut. A soft light burns within and makes the skin of my hand glow ever so slightly. Within that fist I can feel a warmth, and through the hairline cracks between the fingers of my clenched fist I can just barely perceive the light within.

“I want to see it, but I fear that if I open my fist the light will be swallowed up in the darkness, lost forever among the many folds and shadows.

“I can feel exhaustion seeping into the cracks of me. I can feel my hand aching with pain. That pain radiates up my arm and into my shoulder and across my back. I know I can’t hold onto the light forever. I know that holding that light prisoner is tantamount to imprisoning myself.

“In the face of the inevitable I decide to let go. I open my hand.

“The brilliant yellow light defies description, and yet is known to all. The motes of light begin to slowly float up and away. Initial panic is replaced by relief and acceptance as shafts of light radiating out from the center sweep across me and brighten the light within me that I had forgotten was there, like stoking the embers within a long-forgotten fire.

“I think about the people who handed me this priceless, yet freely given, gift and gratitude swarms in to mix with the love, joy, and fear.

“I soon realize that the darkness is not all that inhabits this place. As the motes of light drift ever upward I see them moving towards a vast ribbon of light, like a river in the sky adorned with countless floating candles. The light floats up and away and collects with the other brilliant lights in the heart-space.

“I realize then that I never could have held onto that light even if I wanted to. You can’t hold onto something that doesn’t belong to you. It belongs to everyone.”

6b44814d6190f4e371ab934912851ac8

Know that you are loved. That you deserve love.

Leave a comment